Hello all. I am a little new to this but here goes.

fastled-support
gplus
(Erin Jordan) #1

Hello all. I am a little new to this but here goes. I am working on a Daft Punk (Guy Manuel) Helmet for my circuitry class. I have always looked for an excuse to build one. The Helmet itself is basically complete and All I have left to do is light it up. This part is what my project will be graded on.

I plan to use 64 WS2812B RBG LEDs. My inspiration for this project came from this post on Thingiverse by GTIspeeder. He mentioned the Fastled library and I downloaded his Code.

As a driver I plan to use a Adafruit Pro Trinket 5v.

My Question is Will this work with the pro trinket? I do plan on trying to find a way to remove the Push button from the code. Basically I would just like all the patterns to loop. I do plan to use the code that he most graciously Posted. THANKS A TON GTISpeeder!!!

I also plan to use 2 pins, one for each sidebar.,Just like he did. As far as Power I am still on the drawing board but I do know that I do not plan to power them from the board… As far as I understand that is not even possible. I was thinking Due to the large amount of space inside the helmet, I may power each sidebar separately for Longevity of running time. Will I have any Issues using his Code with WS2812B LEDs as he ran WS2811 LEDs?

Any Input you guys may have would be greatly appreciated.

P.S. I’m not 100% sure how to post his code on here so I apologize for not providing that. Also I Will post likely be using a PC for the Coding.
http://www.thingiverse.com/thing:1045006

(Marc Miller) #2

You can post the code on pastebin or gist and add the link here in comments.

(Michel G. Khoury) #3

here is the link of the code http://www.thingiverse.com/download:1645947 (to rename to .ino)
I don’t see why it wouldn’t work for ws2812b (change LED_TYPE in the code). as for power, as long as you wire everything correctly, same, I don’t see why it wouldn’t work with 2 separate power “channels”.