Having issues with my filament getting jammed.

Having issues with my filament getting jammed. I don’t think it’s from dust particles or dirt, it seems to only happen when I’m at a part of a model that is using quite a lot of retraction. Any thoughts on the cause?

ABS or PLA ? What printer / extruder are you using ?

PLA, 1.75mm. Printrbot Jr. wooden extruder. Using the Ubis hotend with a 0.4mm tip.

I’m no expert, but what does the hot end look like? Is the upper part being cooled with a fan? What’s your retraction setting?

The upper part is indeed cooled with a 40mm fan running at 80%. Retraction length is 2mm, Lift Z: .25mm, Speed: 10mm/s

It looks like there’s still too much heat creeping up the hotend.
10mm/s is way too slow - increase that to at least 50 and the fresh filament will help cool the top of the hotend.

@Thomas_Sanladerer , that speed is the speed of retraction, not the speed of printing. Although, I really should increase that. I’ve been printing more slowly lately to try to solve some cooling issues.

Well Ok, that makes sense. I take it you also have a fan blowing over the printed part to help with cooling?

Yep.

Where are you getting your filament from? Is this filament from a different supplier? Did it just start?

How does the extruder motor sound? Is it possible you’re losing steps in the retraction/reset sequence? Is the motor hot? Is that the retract speed you listed? I believe I solved a similar problem on my PB+ by adjusting the amperage setting with the pots on the printrboard, reducing retract to 0.5 mm and slowing retract speed to less than 10 mm/sec, IIRC. I figured I just need to retract enough to kill the stringing, and not so much that I’m drawing air into the hotend.

@Aaron_Eiche , I’ve been having this issue across different filament from different suppliers.