Has anyone tried (or seen anyone try) to "circularly-spin" a printing table beneath a

Has anyone tried (or seen anyone try) to “circularly-spin” a printing table beneath a fixed single-axis extruder? Seems like it would be a less complicated process. Granted, I’m a complete novice, and don’t even own a printer yet.

Sounds interesting, I’d love to see an animation/simulation of how it might work…

Me too! I’ve never really even tried my hand at animation; my skill-set is limited to Rhino3D modeling…

http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/wjsteele/ultra-bot-3d-printer/posts/362119

You mean something like the PiMaker (has two axis extruder)? http://www.3ders.org/articles/20121206-innovative-pimaker-has-a-build-area-larger-than-makerbot-replicator-2.html

Something like pottery? Hmm interesting ! If i got your question correctly I would imagine that you need to redesign the way the hardware is arranged …and essentially design with cylindrical coordinate system in mind instead of the cartesian coordinate system …

I’m no expert but I would guess that something like that could have accuracy issues at any decent speeds, centrifugal force and all that.

YES! That’s it, EXACTLY! Thanks for the link!

There would be no more issues than there are with cartesian bots due to inertia of the moving masses. Centrifugal force is exactly that - inertia, but applied to rotational motion (i.e. inertial reference frame vs. rotational reference frame).

@Ante_Vukorepa I see your point, I think I was thinking about it only in a one direction setup vs. a two direction, back and forth setup, the way cartesian bots do.

Beautiful !!!

@Rene_K_Mueller the PiMaker looks very cool, too bad it’s not open…

Wow. At first I really thought the PiMaker was awesome and was going to start talking it up, but then I read-up on the back-story and it’s a bit disturbing.