Genmitsu LE5040 laser engraver

My Genmitsu LE5040 laser engraver was finally delivered yesterday! <yeah!>
(After the first one got lost by UPS and several weeks of waiting for the claim to settle.) <sigh…>

What?!? It came as a kit, not fully assembled? Ok, this is my first time buying something like this so what do I know … It was neatly and nicely packaged, so that’s cool.

I was 3/4 of the way putting it together and ran into something that wasn’t clear to me in the instructions, so I found a youtube video of someone putting one of these together. He did something really strange though in the video, he peeled all the backing off the acrylic parts before assembling the pieces. My thought: so those were acrylic pieces …

Now I am undoing the whole assembly and taking everything apart so I can peel the protective backing off the acrylic pieces, [doohhh!] This is how I roll. Hopefully by the time I get this running I won’t be able to field strip the thing with my eyes closed.

1 Like

I got it all put together last week and was able to run it yesterday. I figured a few things out (like $32=1 to tell the controller board it’s dragging a laser around so turn it off during moves.) I get really good repeatability when resending the same job twice. But if I try to cut the same diagonals from different directions, that’s not so great. I am seeing way less cutting power than the youtube videos, but the tip I heard was to raise your material as high and as close to the laser as possible, and carefully focus it before each job. I was able to raise the material up a bit and got slightly better (but still not great) cutting power. I was able to get through 1/16" lite ply after about 10 passes … almost. I finished the cut with an xacto knife, but at least now I have the part I need. So next thing is I need to find a better base so I can get my material even closer to the laser. Still have hopes that this will be useful for smallish model airplane making jobs.