Forking the ChiliPepper Workspace and widgets

Build you own Chilipeppr workspace - John Lauer YouTube Link

After a couple of years of Chillpeppr use and lusting after plugins created for Mach3 users I decide to take the plunge into the world of forking my own workspace with the intent to create my own widgets.

Even though I have some programming experience and can follow a youtube videos as the next person. I finally spent time and forked my own workspace.

What has created more complexity in this mission is the use of Cloud9 as cloud editing and testing environment. This has been made more complex with Cloud9 being acquired by AWS.

This was my experience.

1. In order to create an AWS account to gain access to cloud9 one must now create an AWS account. I found this video useful. Be warned AWS will ask for credit card information even though for our purposes we can use the free tier.

How to create a free AWS / Cloud9 account

It is not possible to create a stand alone cloud9 account for new users and associate it with Github.

I did create an IAM sub user account to avoid the AWS warning in Cloud9 about being logged in witha root account.

1. Once I was able to create an AWS account I was able to create a Cloud9 instance and access the console and IDE. It was not immediately evident how to pull the code from git hub and how to push it back again using the cloud9 instance and your AWS credentials. This link explains how to do this.

Associating Git Hub with AWS Cloud9

1. In the Instruction John gives about running you code it the experience in AWS Cloud9 varies from Johns explanation. When John says run and preview Here is what to click.

Continuing on from my earlier post.