Flax and Hemp processing tools!

Hi Makers,

I’m researching and making some prototype tools for turning raw flax and hemp plants into yarn (for weaving or knitting). It’s part of a project I’m running to connect regenerative agriculture to sustainable fashion :slight_smile: If anyone here has experience in fibre processing tools I’d love to hear from you! Or if you’re just interested to be involved in developing some exciting new tools, and making some weird fabric. I’m working with a farmer down in Essex (who’s growing the flax) and Heriot-Watt Uni Textile school. Once I’ve done the prototypes I hope to upload the plans online so other farmers or small scale fashion designers can get involved too. I have limited experience with open-source hardware so if anyone could suggest good places to post the plans that would be super helpful!

2 Likes

I’m not an expert in textile, but can help with the open source hardware side!

What software design tools are you using to design the new tools?

1 Like

I’m teaching myself to use FreeCAD at the moment, so I’m planning to make some virtual 3D models of the tools in that. And then also supply a materials list, and written instructions and film an instructional video too. I’m very new to this (my background is in textiles and sewing) so if you have suggestions of good software design tools to use I’m all ears!

1 Like

I use FreeCAD occasionally. Forgive me for any of this you already know! In particular, if you don’t know already, they are in the process of releasing version 0.19, which is substantially better than 0.18. I’ve been using beta releases of 0.19 and they have been definitely more stable than .18 in my experience.

It seems like youtube channels are the best place to start, and some youtubers who have been focusing on new versions recently include: