Flaten objects

I’m searching for a flattening tool for objects like this:

By now I did this with a Fusion 360 plugin (ExactFlat). That worked pretty good but the licence is way beyond:

ExactFlat for SOLIDWORKS can either be purchased as a perpetual license at a cost of $13,690 USD or it can be leased for a cost of $4,995 USD per year.

With ExactFlat I have to select the inner surface. After that it gets flattened with a couple of clicks.

Is there another way of doing this? I think all the caracter designer do such things on a daily basis.

2 Likes

Export the STEP file and you can probably do a projection in FreeCAD. I’m still new to FreeCAD after Autodesk messed with licensing earlier in the year and threatened to yank STL export from the free versions. Previously I used projections in OpenSCAD to get my flat DXF files for laser cutting.

Joko Engineering does amazing CAD video tutorials for many CAD packages including FreeCAD. Highly recommend checking to see if he did one covering this topic before looking out in the greater WWW.

3 Likes

Maybe the FreeCAD SheetMetal Workbench?

FreeCAD has matured a lot recently, so you want to limit yourself to relatively recent tutorials if you can.

Here’s the beginning of a multi-part series:

Joko’s is a bit older but 0.18 isn’t that old yet.

2 Likes

Good point on looking for more current FreeCAD tutorials.

The OP showed a 3D part and was asking for ways to ‘flatten it’ which sounds like a 2D projection to either make a drawing with dimensions or to use for things like laser cutters or plasma cutting. But I see how you could also look at it as asking how to make it from a flattened sheetmetal.

Need some clarification on what “flaten object” means.

To be clear I have no experience with the SheetMetal workbench.

When I look at the bottom of its wiki page, I see a link to Macro Sheet Metal Unfolder which looks tantalizingly relevant.

Description