First ever picture frame

At long last, I have completed my first ever frame. Mistakes were made and I had to work around those but I am pleased with the final product for a first attempt.

Red oak from Lowes with splines made from an unknown hardwood shelf left my former owner of my house. Splines and frame wood are almost indistinguishable from each other. I used my table saw, cross cut sled, spine job, and picture frame jig (essentially a miter jig) to complete the project. BLO for the finish.

Managed to slice my left index finger at the second joint when cutting the window glass. I have been a stained glass artist since high school and forgot how fragile standard window glass is. No biggie. Just a bit of a blood smudge in the bottom of the poster.

Bonus picture of upgraded clamp selection (up from just two HF bar clamps to this).

8 Likes

Nice job on the frame.:grinning:

1 Like

In case you didn’t know this trick for cutting perfect 45 angles.
A & B are opposite sides of the 45

4 Likes

Oh that a nice jig idea.

1 Like

Cant have too many clamps…
A projects difficulty is measured by the # of clamps you had to use …
I’d say you are about 1/3 way toward the total # of clamps you need …:slight_smile:

3 Likes

This is my framing jig. Since I took the photo, I have added a stop block with a 45° and a toggle clamp to the long axis. Cut on short axis, align stop block with measurement on long axis, engage toggle clamp, marry the 45°s and cut.

2 Likes

Always many ways to accomplish the same thing …

After cutting with my 45 jig I use this to clamp.

3 Likes

This is great, Don!

It looks like you found center of the square, drilled a 1/2 to 3/4 in hole, and then cut out a right triangle from the bottom after skewing down a couple of mm Is that right?

1 Like