Fiber Laser RS232 DB9

Hello smoothie builders…

I want to know if it’s possible to control a fiber laser from smoothieboard.
In the past, I was able to control a Huanyang VFD using RS-485 breakout with the use of pins rx (P2.6) and tx(P2.4)

Nowadays I want to know if there is a chance to control a fiber laser from smoothieboard using
a RS232 breakout with the same pins. The fiber laser that I want to control has a RS232 DB9 port,
and the specs says it’s possible to control this laser using rx and tx pins.
Is it possible ?

Reading the laser guide, I understand that I can’t see a config option to say “rs232” (like “modbus” for vfd control using rs-485 breakout). The laser guide is focused over co2 lasers…

Is there a workaround or only co2 lasers can be controlled using smoothie ?
I’m not an expert, I’m only looking for help and knowledge…
Any help would be appreciated…

RS-232 is a signalling level (RS-485) is the same. Modbus is a protocol that is common for running over RS-485. So I think your question is whether someone here would know what protocol is used for your particular fiber laser, and secondarily whether smoothie supports it.

I don’t know whether anyone here has that information but if they do it’s more likely that they will be able to help if you share what kind of fiber laser you have.

Thanks for the info !. In this case, the fiber laser could be something like this…
https://www.alibaba.com/product-detail/JPT-LPE-Series-MOPA-Fiber-Laser_1600185387964.html?spm=a2700.galleryofferlist.normal_offer.d_title.34ec63ae4H4Yk0

I know the laser guide does not cover something related with fiber lasers, but, I’m trying to figure out if it’s possible to control a fiber laser using one of the two ports that are available or even if there are fiber lasers that could work (wiring) like co2 lasers…

I don’t know what controller (smoothie) software is needed to drive a RS232 interface designed to drive a fiber laser via serial Rs232?