Dear 3D community. I have no experience in 3D printing,

Dear 3D community. I have no experience in 3D printing, but I follow the media and there has been so much spin on the topic, so I thought I will bring up this, perhaps not the most popular, opinion:

Media is all about 3D print revolution and the motto “3D printer in every home” seems to be the leitmotif today. However, beside medical and industrial application and, perhaps some makers, I haven’t seen anything interesting printed on a 3D printer at home by anybody yet. I mean there are all those complicated figures, but they seem to be a waste of plastic, because they are useless. This includes demos of the 3D printer manufacturers - all they make, as a demo is just a bunch of complicated, but useless bullshit. I went, of course, through the community page, to see what people are making, but I see the same - discussions on new printers, examples of industrial and medical uses, and half of the makers, it seems, are trying to justify the investment in to a 3D printer, by printing stuff, that was never a problem to make before this technology came along.

I remember some years ago, when Makerbot was just starting, one of the creators, I think was giving an interview on how how 3D printing will revolutionise the world and his example was something like, if a shower curtain hook breaks, you can just go ahead and print a new one. Excuse me, investing couple of grand into something, that I can buy in package of 20 for a buck, does not seem that revolutionary to me. He didn’t give further examples.