Cutting plywood with a circular saw: Fences and blades oh my!

I’m new to working with Baltic Birch. I don’t have a table saw setup the way a real woodworker would. I’m just rough-cutting pieces to CNC later, so a great cut doesn’t matter much; the cut is in waste anyway. I have a 7 ¼" circular saw with a Accu-rip long-reach fence/guide.

I have been using a plywood blade but I think it has seen better days. It’s a hollow-ground thin kerf blade, and the long-reach fence which makes it easy for the saw to get behind or ahead, rack, and not cut straight. (See also this thread; I’m not alone.). I think that the thin blade with no significant relief is also very susceptible to flexing. It rubs and heats and burns and I’m sure once that starts, it accelerates the dulling process. So time to throw it away. Here’s the evidence:

It looks like the Kreg Rip-Cut could resist racking a lot better, but a lot of customer reviews complain that it’s a plastic piece of junk.:

Has anyone here had good experience with this guide/fence? I guess maybe I could make an aluminum guide extension to reduce racking on my existing Accu-rip guide…

I’m also looking for advice on plywood blades.

I saw a review saying that this Diablo worked well in Baltic Birch, so I ordered one…

I see thin kerf, carbide teeth, and expansion slots that should help it run true. Any experience and other suggestions?

This is what I use and it has been very accurate if you take your time.

2 Likes

Yeah, but that HF fence only works to 24" and I’m cutting 5’ sections. So it would come up about a yard short…

In any case I was quite stupid. I could have just clamped 1.5M aluminum extrusion that I already have in the workshop to the wood as a fence and made a perfectly straight cut. Sigh