Controlling a DC motor with TB6612FNG on ESP32

Hi everybody, I’m a noob both here and with electronics in general. I’m trying to get a DC motor working with my ESP32, using a motor driver board TB6612FNG. It doesn’t do anything after I upload the sketch.

Here’s how I hooked it up:
VM → 9v battery positive
VCC → 3.3v output pin 1 from ESP32
GND → 9v battery negative
A01, A02 → DC motor
STBY → GPIO27 (11)
AIN1 → GPIO14 (12)
AIN2 → GPIO12 (13)
PWMA → GPIO13 (15)
GND 1, GND 2 → GND (14)

I copy/pasted this sketch without modifying it:

I was able to measure 3.3 volts on the TB6612 VCC, and 8.9v from the VM. But the motor doesn’t move (if I hook up the battery directly to the motor is does). The Serial Monitor prints the Loop message so I know the sketch is running on the ESP32 properly.

Any ideas? This is driving me nuts!

Thanks in advance,

Kevin

1. Are you using a motor driver board or directly wiring to the TB6612?
  2. A picture of your setup may help.
  3. Schematic?
  4. I assume the code compiled with no errors or warnings?

I will take a look.

In the mean time I would comment everything out of the loop except:

void loop()
{
Serial.printf(“Loop: %d\n”, millis());
// 500ms forwards
motor.drive(0.5, 500);
}

… and see if the motor will run one direction and speed?

Hi Don, thanks for replying. Happy Friday! Sorry for taking so long. I looked for a good breadboard layout solution and found that Tinkercad has one, so I whipped up a wiring diagram.

Firstly, to answer your questions:

1. Are you using a motor driver board or directly wiring to the TB6612?

The TB6612 is the motor driver board and I’m wiring up the ESP32 directly to it.

1. A picture of your setup may help.

The four sets of 8-pin headers represent the 32-pin ESP32. The two lower sets represent the TB6612FNG board. I couldn’t figure out how to overlay the pics in Tinkercad so left it as-is.

The TB6612FNG pin layout in the wiring diagram is as follows:
Left Side:
1 - PWMA
2 - AIN2
3 - AIN1