Can someone help me? I can't figure this out for the life of me.

Can someone help me? I can’t figure this out for the life of me. Let me say I am a rookie and if there is a better way to write this effect please re-write it, or tell me how. I just tried to modify an example to create the effect i’m looking for but its not working.

I want to create an “effect” that fills the LED strip from a palette I define, I want to fill the LED strip with at least 6 colors. It can be moving, or non moving. but I do not want to use palette knife. I want it to be filled in an order like Red, White, Yellow, Green, Blue, Orange and just repeat the pattern to fill the entire strip

The “effect” i’m struggling with is on lines 281 and 552-570 of the GIST

The rest of the code is working fine.>>>If I comment out those lines I get no errors

Here is a link to my code

Here is a link to the error I get

I’m on a bus right now and can’t really dig into this, but it looks like you copied an entire function declaration and dropped it into the middle of other code - which is confusing the compiler, a lot :slight_smile:

Hopefully someone can work out what exactly it is you want to do with the code in there and help you out (not sure when I will be able to take a closer look at your code)

@Kyle_bostick

you also need to declare colorIndex
for instance line 289 add
uint8_t colorIndex;

you have copied the function definition inside the code
so do the following

for instance line 1048 add the following:
void FillLEDsFromPaletteColors( uint8_t colorIndex)
{
uint8_t brightness = 255;

for( int i = 0; i < NUM_LEDS-1; i++) {
    leds[i] = ColorFromPalette( currentPalette, colorIndex, brightness, currentBlending);
    colorIndex += 3;
}

}

then line552 replace :
if (setEffect == “C9”) {
FillLEDsFromPaletteColors( uint8_t colorIndex);
for( int i = 0; i < NUM_LEDS; i++) {
leds[i] = ColorFromPalette( currentPalette, colorIndex, brightness, currentBlending);
colorIndex += 3;
}
}
by