Building a CNC router

Hi

I have bought me a
MKS DLC V2. 0
MKS CD V1. 0 stepper Breakout board
DQ420MA Stepper drivers.
I connect it up download grbl and open up openbuilds to test but no movement on my x, y or z
How do I Connect the DQ420MA stepper drivers Signal pins to the MKS CD V. 1 breakout board pins
I have it as
En - Enb
STEP - Pull
DIR - Dir
+5v - Grn
As advise by the supplier. Does not look right to me. Do I only have to upload the GRBL and the machine will run or do I need a code. Can someone help I’m new to this and really need help as a beginner

MKS DLC V2.0 needs to be driven over USB; it doesn’t have storage of any form.

I don’t have an MKS stepper breakout board. I don’t see why you would need one. The MKS DLC V2.0 has the signals brought out on a separate header right next to the step stick headers. The breakout is for boards that don’t have headers to break out the stepper signals. I have an MKS DLS V2.0 and I have the stepper motor drivers connected directly to the headers.

1 Like

Hi thanks for the advice on the breakout boards. Can you please assist me with the wiring from the MKS DLC V2. 0 TO the stepper drivers DQ420MA. I have connected everything and upload GRBL 1.1 But when I go to CNCJ nothing happens when I try to move x, y or z… All the motor stand stil no movement

I don’t know about the DQ420MA drivers you have. I’m using logic-level LV8729 drivers.

Typical DQ420MA units I see are opto-isolated with six control connections. In that case, you might want to build the firmware in open drain configuration, and then:

• +5V goes to EN+, PUL+, and DIR+ (these might be labeled in various ways)
  • STEP goes to PUL-
  • EN goes to EN-
  • DIR goes to DIR-

The alternative is:

• GND goes to EN-, PUL-, and DIR-
  • STEP goes to PUL+
  • EN goes to EN+
  • DIR goes to DIR+

Hi

The problem is. It only have 4 pins out. I will sent a foto.