Bottle Filling Machine

I’m trying to wrap my brain around starting a project to build a small bottle liquid filling machine.

I am about to start with pencil and paper from the ground up, but before I start, I wanted to ask around to see if anyone has done something similar and be willing to help me not start from square one.

I have lots of experience in a lot of different areas (hello, MakerSpace) - but just enough to be safe and get the job done in most of them (I can physically build most things I need - wood, metal, 3D printing, etc - and can learn the syntax of code I’ve never used in order to take someone else’s groundwork and get it to do what I need it to do - but to start from scratch will be a challenge).

What I’m trying to accomplish is something very similar to this Accutek Mini-Doser:

Automatic Precision Mini Dose Filling/Dispensing Machine - Accu-Doser - Accutek Packaging Equipment

I was about to go with peristaltic pump, but the syringe, several fills at a time, has me considering the cleanup as I switch colors (forgot to mention the use-case… we make and bottle small jars of ceramic stains and paints).

When I saw the Mini-Doser in person, it reminded me of my 3D printers with their stepper motors and lead screws, etc. which got me thinking it’s conceivable to build… you know?

Any resources or tips before I jump in with both feet would be appreciated! Thanks!!

Welcome to the forum…

I built a dispenser for epoxy once … what a nightmare! Paint should be easier?

Here is how I would attack this project. Lots of unanswered design questions here…

I would start by researching the subsystems method and components of commercial machines with the intention of making initial design decisions for a prototype.
Commercial machine to expensive??

Such as…

Dispensing:
Pinch fill: Timed Flow Volumetric Filler - Pinch Series - Accutek Packaging Equipment Companies, Inc. - YouTube