Beginners Help

Hi all,

I am new to lasers. Just bought a k40 used but with most all of the upgrades I wanted including a cohesion board and air assist. I downloaded lightburn yesterday and have been going through the manuals they have to try and learn as much as possible.

The machine worked when I bought it.

A few things I am having issues with off the bat that I can’t figure out and can’t seem to find through search is the following:

1. my laser seems to be inverted with regards to how I see it on my laptop. This means when looking at the laser, the back most left side is actually the bottom right of my laptop. When I Have the machine run a program it goes in the reverse of what I expected. How can I correct this?
  2. When I have the laser “form” the area. Sometimes it only runs half the cutting area rather than the whole thing.
  3. If I set the image in the middle of the work space and run it, the laser seems to want to run it in one of the corners instead of the middle.
  4. How can I control the power output of the laser in lightburn? Is there a setting? (I have the dial on my machine that I will keep under 15ma

The board originally came with grbl ltc but I just upgraded to smoothie firmware (what a nightmare as I thought it was just download and go.

Looking for a little guidance and some readings. Lots of the starting stuff has been around safety, I got that all down pat.

Thanks in advance!

The guy gave me a drag chain that I want to install too that I need to search as well.

the CAM software you are using to do your laser layout needs to have the coordinates set correctly. And your home position should be your back left side of the K40. you should always trigger the HOME process which should move the laser head to the switches in the back left corner.