After lurking here for a while,

After lurking here for a while, I’m going to start my first project with an ESP32 and a 18x16 LED matrix plus 60 extra LEDs (based on WS2812b strips) - a “Word Clock” with a 60 LED ambient light border (or seconds display…).

From what I’ve read lately I should use the RMT driver on an ESP32 if I want to do Wifi and that supports 8 channels by default?

According to Mark Merlin amazing blog, I should even be able to receive IR signals too then (which uses one RMT channel?)?

I’m also thinking about adding an i2c RTC…

Since I have no experience with FastLED and it’s parallel output yet (or ESP32 for that matter :)), I wonder if the strips have to be of the same length.

Right now I am thinking of doing 4 channels each driving 4 rows a 18 LEDs (72 LEDs) for the main matrix plus 1 for the 60 LEDs for the ambilight. Having the strips in rows would make selecting the “words” easier. Total: 5 channels

Another option is rotate the strips 90 ° and do 6 channels with 3 columns a 16 LEDs (48 LEDs) each. Plus 1 channel for the 60 ambient LEDs as above. Total: 7 channels.

I think I’m going for the first because of the easier “word selection” (word starts at LED X and is Y LEDs long).

@Thomas_Balu_Walter to drive a 18x16 matrix +60 leds, using parallel output is over kill with only one pin you will have a refresh rate of 95fps. My guess is that you will bother to much with wiring for not much of a useful gain. I would use two pins
One for the matrix and one for the 60 other leds.

You are absolutely right, I have to be reminded sometimes[1] to not overengineer things… ;-). But one of the reasons for using multiple channels was to do exactly that - so I could learn how to do it in bigger setups. And since I’m using an 8 channel 74HC245 anyways, I felt it wouldn’t be that much of a hassle?

But yes, if I use two channels, I should be able to extend it later just the same…

[1] as in “always”