Advice needed...Where would be the best places to buy a 3D Printer?

Advice needed…Where would be the best places to buy a 3D Printer? What brands do you all recommend? Looking to do some medium scale printing and I’m trying to decide what would be best for my interest. I’m an architecture student but I also have interior and industrial design ideas that I would like to create. Any help is much appreciated!!!

What print volume and resolution are you looking for. That will start narrowing the field, and then what is you budget? You aren’t going to get a Stratasys printer with a 1m X 1m x 50cm print volume for $300.

My budget is about $2500. As far as volume and resolution, I’m unsure of these at the current moment.

Sounds like for that budget you should be looking at the hobbyist style printers. Possibly a RepRap or a derivative of that design.

I’ll look into those. Thanks for your help.

My personal advice at that price point would be a Mendel90, Bukabot, or Lulzbot. They’re actually cheaper than your budget, but unless you go into 5 figures you don’t get much better than that.

I think http://www.lulzbot.com/ sells a very nice machine for the money. They are also a great example of opensource in a for-profit company.

Thanks for the recommendation Miles

Thanks for the info also Scott

MakerBot is very popular as well, with a strong user community. If you are in NYC, you can walk in and look at the printer, and walk out with one if you want.

That being said, there are many good printers. Choosing between printers depends on details of what you are looking for. Do you care most about size, speed, range of materials, ability to use multiple materials, portability, professional appearance, things for display vs. heavy usage, etc.? All would guide a different recommendation.

If you can wait a few months for delivery, the Rigidbot on Kickstarter.com is about to close (3 days remaining) and you can get a large or extra large printer for a great deal.