A teacher asked me recently,

A teacher asked me recently, wheter he should buy a standard or an Ultimaker2 for his school. I know the the pros and cons from the old UM pretty good. But I have no experience with the UM2. What would you recommend?

UM is currently on sale -25% and thus half the price of an UM2.
But in the long run the UM2 may be better…

I recommend the UM-Original. It’s very fit for schools due to the tinker-ability.
It’s nowhere near outdated or anything. And you have experience with it, which is a huge plus.

(As for half the price, do not forget that it’s the kit vs UM2 assembled)

Did he say why he was considering only an Ultimaker? it would be good to know the reason.

@Kenneth_Cummings likely because the Ultimaker is pretty much hands-down the best printer that actually supports the open source community.

@Kenneth_Cummings No, he did not. But I suppose that in his community its the first choice.

It has a good point in that the enclosure could keep little fingers from getting burned or mashed, preventing law suits. The enclosure could help in temperature control. I prefer my exposed machine so I can enjoy seeing the moving parts like wire wrapped cables at work.

@ThantiK are you running an ultimaker 1?

@Jarred_Baines I’ve got experience with tons of different machines. UM1, MendelMax, Prusa Mendel (and practically any variation thereof), Prusa i3, Bukobot, Ingentis, Doboz 2 (H-bot), Printrbot (Old printed version), Printrbot Jr, Printrbot LC, Wallace, Rostock, Rostock Mini, DeltaMaker, ORD-bot…

@ThantiK what’s the most reliable (unobserved, multi-hour prints) at this point?
I guess the Ultimaker 2.