A little off topic but it related in that I hope to machine parts

A little off topic but it related in that I hope to machine parts for a RepStrap…

I have a 12 year old Sherline CNC Mill and Lathe that use a (now defunct) AhHa controller that put out pulses to the stepper motor controllers for the Mill and Lathe. Have not touched either in a decade; I’m just getting into this by way of recent interest in 3D printing. I would like to replace this controller with something more modern. I’m certainly not the first to attempt this, so I thought I would ask here. I like the idea of the Arduino controllers and the host interface of something like Repetier that we use for 3d Printing.

If anyone has a suggestion of a path to explore or a forum that I should follow, I would appreciate it. Thanks.

Eric

Cnczone will be your best resource. The controllers we use can’t handle the high amperage on nema 23 motors, and the control software will be different.

Sherline sells relevant control boxes/electronics. Gecko also does, at quite a price but superb reliability and behavior. My Sherline has a set of linistep drivers, which are at the edge of their ability but at $25/axis were excellent; @James_Newton has info on a THB6064-based board that’s easily capable of driving NEMA23’s for $35/axis. There are a bunch of other options as well.

The THB6064AH corrects the design flaws in those cheap junk 6065 drivers you see on ebay and will /actually/ drive 4 amps at 50 volts (200 watts) into a good sized stepper motor.
http://www.piclist.com/techref/io/stepper/THB6064/index.htm