3018, GRBL, UGS, homing and machine coordinates

I hope this is the place for this :crossed_fingers:

I am new to using a 3018 engraver. I have been getting familiar with using the machine with UGS, have installed limit switches, and set it up for homing.

After a homing cycle, the machine coordinates become (in mm): X-199.0, Y-199.0 Z-1.0. I would like the coordinates to end up at all zeros.

I believe that the resulting coordinates are where it is after “pull-off”, ie, after the axis pulls away from the limit switch after making contact, which is 1mm.

So how does either GRBL (the firmware used in the 3018 control board) or UGS define what the resulting machine coords are after homing, and how can I change these?

Thanks…

Does your setting in UGS for where the origin reside match the machine? That looks like a setting between firmware and UGS is out of whack.

I’m not clear on what you’re asking, can you supply more details?

I used google and found a few examples. Here’s a video which might help: Using G-CODE files and setting ZERO in UGS | Quick Tip - YouTube

Thanks. That’s referring to setting the “soft” or workpiece zero/coords. I am talking about the machine coords. In UGS they are the smaller number below each X,Y,Z coord in the DRO pane. The machine coords after homing will always be the same. The soft zeros are volitile, and mean nothing after a power outage, in which case you’d have to start all over and find zero again. I home the machine, set up my project and set my soft zero, then record the the resulting machine coords on a piece of paper. Then if a power outage occurs I can easily get back to my zero based on the machine coords I recorded.

The machine coords it assigns after homing would (I assume) be something stored in the firmware. I was wondering if there is a way to change that.